Re: Just Trying to Keep Up – Some Help

As an educator, during the summer, I have lots of free “thinking” time.  Usually, I use that time to update my accounting knowledge, write accounting articles, catch-up with my casual reading, and hang-out with my 3-year old daughter.

Lately, though, keeping up with the accounting literature has become a full-time job.  Particularly because: (1) I try to read the published proposals and final standards of most of the auditing and accounting standard-setters (ASB, PCAOB, FASB, the IASB and the IAASB) and (2) all of the standard-setters have challenging 2010 – 2011 technical agendas.

So, I’ve had to come up with strategies that allow me to keep up with the activities of the standard-setters while retaining at least some time for my other activities.

How do I do that you ask?

Well, I use as much electronic support as is available, including: Twitter, IASB and FASB podcasts, and on-line webcasts.

Both the FASB and the IASB provide periodic updates that can be downloaded to ITunes.  In addition, all of the standard-setters broadcast their regular meetings on-line. Further, when new or proposed guidance is issued, most of the standard-setters outline the guidance (or proposal) via on-line webcasts.

Not to be outdone by the standard-setters, the major accounting firms, the AICPA and the state accounting societies now use the electronic media (i.e., webcasts, Twitter, and podcasting) to provide on-line updates of major accounting industry developments.  

Best of all, it’s all free.  Just register and listen.  In fact, if you miss an event, most organizations archive it so that you can listen at your convenience.

Access to the available electronic support can be found in a menu item on the related organization’s website.

Now I have a new problem; trying to listen to all of the podcasts and webcasts that I’ve downloaded.

About docjonz

I am an Associate Professor of accounting at Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY. Additionally, I have more than 30 years of professional accounting experience in various capacities including auditing, accounting standard setting and corporate accounting policy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

